Image

Last night I posted a little teaser for this jar cozy  with the promise to post up a free crochet pattern.  Since I like to keep my promises…….

Image

Olive Ewe Jar Cozy Pattern:

I created my cozy for an 8oz.  sized glass olive oil jar that is square in shape.   I’m certain this pattern can be fashioned to any sized square bottle by simply creating your starting chains longer by adding a few extra chains onto the beginning 4 chains of 20. (sounds confusing…it really is not)   For example my pattern requires 4 chains of 20 in order to fit snugly around my olive oil jar.      The bottom will look like a cross that overlaps the edges a bit as in my photo example.

Image

This is an original pattern created with love by me & is my absolute pleasure to share with you to use and enjoy.  My only request is that you not sell items made from this pattern online & if you happen to post pictures online of your finished project using this pattern please link my page. Give credit where credit is due. Thanks so much!  Enjoy!!!

Lets get started!

Please note I am not a pattern jotting expert!  I’ve only ever written patterns for friends to try, and well because they are friends I doubt very much  they would want to tell me I’m not very good at it!  hahaha…   I will do my best here and if you happen to notice any mistakes feel free to bring them to my attention!   If you get stuck on any part of this pattern, feel free to hit me up here and I will do my very best to help walk you through.

Materials I used:

Thread size 6 (mine was purchased overseas and is 100% Egyptian cotton)
Steel crochet hook size 0
-or any light weight thread cotton yarn and matching size hook.

Crochet Terms (American English):

ch= chain
SC = Single Crochet
Sl_ slip stitch

Pattern:

Round 1.  *Make a beginning chain of 21, sc twice into the 20th chain from your hook* <*you may need to add or subtract a few beginning chains in order to fit your particular jar>  Measure it on the bottom of your container by centering it,  to see if it reaches over the sides a bit.  If so, your good to go!
Image
Repeat from * to * 3 times more join with a sl to first sc – you will sc twice into the same chain as the first each time.  You now have four loops of 20 with 2 sc between each loop.

Round 2. Sl into the first 10 chains of the beginning chain 20, ch 1,  sc, ch3, sc in same chain space.  *Chain 10, sc, ch3, sc* in each loop around. sl to join in first sc.
Image
Round 3. <this round will begin continuous rounds without joining>
sl into first chain 3 space.
ch1, sc, ch 3, sc in same space, *chain 5, sc, ch3, sc in next chain 3 space* *to* around. do not join on this round or proceeding rounds.

Round 4.  sc, ch 3, sc in chain three space, ch 5, *sc, ch 3, sc in next ch 3 space, chain 5*  repeat *to* around
Image
Round 5.  repeat round 4 continuously, until desire length.  You can finish off any way you choose. I made a little crochet i-cord using some soft wool scraps from a sweater I made last year…. weaved the cord into each loop around the neck of the bottle….  Its simple and cute.  You can use ribbon or crochet a cute border.  The sky is the limit people!

Image

Whats really fantastic is no one would ever guess there is a bottle of olive oil sitting on my dresser in my bedroom.  It looks as though it belongs there  amongst all my other pretty things …it actually does serve a purpose for reasons I will explain on a later blog.

Til then, Peace, love and blessings
K.

