Image

Hi again!

You  may remember a couple of posts ago,  I mentioned that a bottle of extra virgin Olive oil is kept on my dresser in my bedroom for which I fashioned a cute little cotton crocheted cozy (say that 10 X’s fast).  You can find that pattern here.   I must say that every time I glance at my little bottle-o-love my heart does a happy dance.  That’s what creativity is all about!  It just makes me happy to know that I’ve  created something with my own two hands which is  pleasing to the eye! I absolutely Love it!

I’ll bet you have been wondering since said post (all of two days ago),  Why does Karen keep that bottle of oil on her dresser? Well I’m here to explain myself.  :]

I use my olive oil as a very important added ingredient in my delicious homemade diy body scrub recipe. Because I do not want to mistake this oil for the one that I use to cook with, it is kept in my room.   There you have it!    In addition, it serves as a handy lip balm, foot rub and hair tonic during these cold winter months…or anytime really!!  For the lips: dab a bit straight from the bottle onto a q-tip & apply.  For hair and feet: warm a 1/4 cup in the microwave for a few seconds and apply leave overnight (sock your tootsies) and rinse well in the a.m..  Its wonderful, all natural, and great for your skin and hair! (not to mention your body)

So without further ado, I present you with my very own

Image

smells good enough to eat!

Vanilla Sugar Body Scrub Recipe:

Ingredients:

1/4 cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 tbsp. Vanilla Extract
1/2 cup White sugar
1/2 cup raw sugar
1/4 cup pure honey
2 tsp. ground cinnamon {freshly ground or powdered}

Utensils:

Medium mixing bowl
wooden mixing spoon
measuring cups and measuring spoons

Instructions:

warm honey in the microwave for just a few seconds.  Operative word here is “WARM“.  You do not want to boil or over heat the honey. This step is to thin the honey consistency a bit before adding to other ingredients.   Set aside.

Measure out your sugars and mix them together to incorporate.
add olive oil, ground cinnamon, and vanilla extract to your sugar mixture.  Stir well.
add honey. Stir very well.

Place in a airtight container to keep fresh and moist.
This body scrubs will stay fresh for up to one month as long as it is stored properly. You may find that you have used it up before the expiration- in which case, you may double your recipe or add a bit more to each ingredient.  Its not a perfect science so play around with it a bit.  Add your own twist by incorporating other wonderful scents & natural ingredients.  This scrub makes a wonderful gift for friends and family.   I always appreciate homemade gifts!

Notes:
*You may add a few drops more of olive oil or sugars if you are not satisfied with the consistency. The olive oil tends to separate a bit as it is stored so be sure to stir well before each use.

*Because this mixture is rather abrasive, it is not intended for use on your face.  I do have an awesome facial recipe that I use faithfully and swear by.  I will share this with you next time.

For now, have a wonderful day & enjoy your very own vanilla body scrub!

K.

